Parents, especially Mothers

“Ki Adonai eloheha imah”

(Because G-d your god is with you)

I noticed, when reading my Torah portion over the other day, that the word “Ima” (mother) and “Imah” (is with you) are almost identical, although they look quite different in the Hebrew. (אִמָּא and עִמָּךְ) I think that is a sweet, if accidental, pair of homophones. Shouldn’t, in a perfect world, your mother be with you to aid you when you need it and to always provide love? Isn’t that what moms are for?   So, this is a cute set of homophones that I found! 🙂

3 Comments

  1. This is absolutely adorable.
    On a practical side note, I think it’s interesting the way the words don’t read the same _at_all_ but yet sound the same. It produces a very different effect if you’re a literate audience READING the Torah than if you are an aural audience, dependent on hearing the Torah.

  2. This is a beautiful observation. My own experience is that my mother and my mother-in-law have been with me in my heart, in my thoughts every day, even though they both have been gone for several years. That shows how much they taught me and influenced me throughout my life.

Leave a Reply

