Haftara

I did it!! I finally decided about my Haftarah portion! As you may or may not know, I could not decide what verses I would do . So the other day, I finally picked out some verses. They are: Isaiah 51: 17-23. Here is the link: http://www.blueletterbible.org/bible.cfm?b=Isa&c=51#s=730022

By the way, thank you all for commenting.

I had noticed, reading the English translation, that the point of view (?) went from 2nd person to 3rd person to 2nd person again.  what Rabbi Shaffer noticed was that it went from 2nd person singular to 3rd person to 2nd person plural. I think this is because Isaiah goes from talking to the personification of Israel to talking to the people about the personification of Israel  to talking to the people (about themselves). The reason he talk first to the personification of Israel is that the people of Israel know that they  have experienced it firsthand and maybe he kind of wants to console the personification of Israel but at the same time he knows it is not only his job and so tells the people of Israel to pity her. And, kind of, by extension, themselves. So he then tells the people how terrible it is going, and then says: “G-d will save you if you return to him.” So this is how Isaiah is getting people to return to G-d. I guess, like the order of when what gets said before battle, in this case G-d gets to say that the ends justify the means. And in this case, no one is saying “hey wait… Why would You do that, isn’t that kind of unfair?” So here’s a lesson: We are Yisrael, the people who struggle with G-d. As reform Jews, we are obligated to make our own choices about laws. And that is much of why I am a Reform Jew, I like that freedom. But also sometimes the ends justify the means.  And sometimes there are two contradictory right answers. Isn’t that kind of hard? But hey, you can’t have good consequences without hard choices.

(This is one of those times where I go off on a tangent more interesting than the thing I was talking about earlier.)

By me, with help from G-d. And Isaiah, I guess.

1 Comment

  1. Hi Brynnen, I’m so glad your dad introduced me to your blog! I have started to read it and am enjoying it. I’ve put a link to it on the CBI website. As for a comment to your blog, I like being a Reform Jew, too, for the freedom of choice. But sometimes it is very hard to make choices, and that’s why it is important for me to continue to study so I can make educated choices!

Leave a Reply

